The Later Kings of Assyria - Assyria and Bible Prophecy

Index to Assyria and Bible Prophecy


King of Assyria (860-607 B.C.)

Shalmaneser II (860-825 B.C.) Began to "cut off" Israel

Adad-nirari (808-783 B.C.) Israel paid him tribute

Assur-lush (753-747 B.C.) Jonah may have ministered

Tiglath-pileser III (Pul) (747-727 B.C.) Deported most of Israel

Shalmaneser IV (727-722 B.C.) Besieged Samaria

Sargon II (722-705 B.C.) Carried the rest of Israel into captivity

Sennacherib (705-681 B.C.) Invaded Judah

Esar-haddon (681-668 B.C.) Very Powerful

Assur-banipal (668-626 B.C.) Most powerful and wicked

Assur-etil-ilani (626-607 B.C.) Assyria fell under his reign

Assyrian annals mention contacts with some nine Hebrew kings: Omri, Ahab, Jehu, Menahem, Pekah, Uzziah, Ahaz, Hezekiah, and Manasseh.

In the reign of Hoshea, king of Israel, Shalmaneser, king of Assyria, twice invaded (2 Kings 17:3,5) the kingdom that remained, and his successor Sargon II took Samaria in 722 BC, carrying away 27,290 of the population as he tells in his Khorsabad Annals. Later Assyrian kings, notably Esarhaddon (681 BC - 668 BC), completed the task.

Also see:

Chronology of Israel and Judah's Kings and Prophets

Kings of the Assyrian Empire

Kings of the Babylonian Empire

Kings of the Persian Empire


Read The Bible


Welcome to Free Bible: Unearthing the Past, Illuminating the Present! Step into a world where ancient history and biblical narratives intertwine, inviting you to explore the rich tapestry of human civilization.

Discover the captivating stories of forgotten empires, delve into the customs and cultures of our ancestors, and witness the remarkable findings unearthed by dedicated archaeologists.

Immerse yourself in a treasure trove of knowledge, where the past comes alive and illuminates our understanding of the present.

Join us on this extraordinary journey through time, where curiosity is rewarded and ancient mysteries await your exploration.

Recent posts